The crown shall

cover2BOOK

My reign as Paper Crown King comes to an end on Sunday at 3pm SLT, when the crown will be passed to the next Monarch for a month of more crown-featuring photos.  If you’ve been following me on Flickr these past few weeks, you’ll have seen a gradually unfolding poem about power accompanying my pictures. As my final act as King, I’ve compiled these into an Issuu publication: a picture book for adults, if you will.  You can read ‘The crown shall’ via the embed below (probably best if you full-screen it) – or, if you prefer to read direct from the Issuu website, click here.

 

The crown shall

The crown shall make me mighty
The crown shall make me wise
The crown trickles poetry into my ears and onto my eyes
It tells me I am loved
It tells me I am right
It silences the doubts that stop me sleeping in the night
The crown shall cast my shadow
The crown shall get me heard
With my head beneath its sheen the world will change upon my word
It tells me not to listen
It tells me they are fake
It tells me if I want to rule the facts are mine to make
The crown shall make them tremble
The crown shall make them cheer
If I have to press the button I will do so, have no fear
I will grab them by their pussies
I will take them by the nuts
I will spout my bleeding tweets and stab my voters with my cuts
The crown shall make them hate me
And I shall hate them too
And I’ll hate them all with that special hate I use for hating you

The crown shall make me bitter
But the crown shall make me hard
The crown shall have me kill you all
and leave our planet charred

Leave a Reply

